Taiwan – January 2018 (Part 4): Taipei Cinema Park

Honestly, this part of the trip is just me sliding into our iterinary as I don’t know whether my friends will like the place or not. Good to say that the Taipei Cinema Park is just a couple of blocks away from our hotel in Ximen area. So why not give it walk then?

I honestly surprised in a very good way how the art culture in Taipei is so alive. I like everything about arts and culture, but you cannot call me a pro yet when it comes to art. As much as possible, I try to attend art fairs and visit museum and galleries to learn and appreciate more what art is. Taipei Cinema Park is filled with wall to wall artworks and graffiti. Taipei Cinema Park kind of reminds me when I visited the famed Haji Lane in Singapore though a lot less humid.

Backpack Gang 🎒

This so-called square/park was a slum before (based from google and some travel blogs) and the government decided to improve the area so that it could become an attraction. The serenity of this place does not give a slum area vibe at all. Learning and reading about these stories make me appreciate the place even more. Nowadays, they use this space as events place for arts, skate boarding and other subcultures you can think of that needs a large open space. When we visited the place, there are even students filming their school project.

Visual Treat

Street Mao

Colors

For me, it is a must visit place for anyone touring Taipei. We went there in the morning just after we had our breakfast in McDonald’s, so I can only say that I recommend visiting the area in mid mornings if you want to avoid the crowd. I guess it is a different story on weekends and afternoon, I guess the place is swarmed with people doing anything you can think of – chat, picnic, people watching. When I go back to Taipei soon, I will go back to this place and maybe visit it on the evening and experience a different vibe it will show.

Happiness

‘Til the next pose & post!

Leave a comment