Taiwan – January 2018 (Prologue)

Taiwan. What do we know about Taiwan? Maybe the famed Asian drama ‘Meteor Garden’? A soveriegn country a little bit north of the Philippines? What else? These are the answers that most people will come up but for me it is more than those.

9 Degrees Welcome

Taipei 101

As a child, Taiwan is a country that I really wanted to visit, even before all the hype started: Meteor Garden, milktea, etc. I fondly remember the stories of my “Tita” (aunt) about her travel in Taiwan. Since that time, I made up my mind that I need to go to Taiwan, will have a blast and make great memory just like my tita used to when she visited the country. Another reason I wanted to go to Taiwan is becaude of a tv show aptly titled “Fun Taiwan” in Discovery Channel. I remember marking my own notebook/calendar each week so that I will not miss any episode.

Taipei Cinema Park

Chiang Kai-shek Memorial

So for me, this trip in Taiwan is etra special as this trip fulfills my childhood dreams of visiting the country. We all have that one place we heard about a lot back in the days and you can’t wait to go there. For some, it may be Disneyland but for me it’s Taiwan.

Taipei View From Gondola

Ximenting

Sky Lantern at Shifen Old Street

This I have to say that visiting Taiwan is a big check on my bucket list. Taiwan did not fail my expectations about everything (even exceeded them): I feel at home when I was in Taiwan, people are genuinely nice, public transportation is great, and everything about our trip is so perfect (even the weather cooperated!). I also have to say that most people understand English but keeping a little bit of basic Mandarin will do some wonders. I know a little bit of Mandarin and it was drained to the extreme on the airport when I was buying our bus ticket to the city but I guess that is an experience I wont trade for anything and I promised myself to re-learn, re-study Mandarin as it may come in handy again (when I go back to Taiwan or visit China soon).

Lavender Ice Cream at Lavender Cottage

Taichung and Flowers

This part was supposedly part one of the many entries but I have decided to put this as a prologue. I have never done a prologue before but since this is a very special trip for me and this post has become a little lenghty, so here it goes. I know I said a lot for a prologue and please keep posted for the next in the series. Hope you love this blog post series as much as I enjoy and love Taiwan.

I Fell In LOVE with Taiwan

‘Til the next pose & post!

Leave a comment