Shoes Inculturation

I really wanted to visit for the longest time the quaint city in Metro Manila dubbed as “The Nation’s Shoe Capital”. I just dont have the time (and effort) to go there even if it is just like a 15-30 minute drive from my workplace. Finally, I was able to visit the area because of the shoe exhibit/ fair they are annualy running.

Marikina City is known for their craftmanship for quality shoes. I have to be honest this is actually my very first time to buy a pair of shoes made in Marikina, and dont you worry I am planning to go back every now and then to buy some shoes and be proud of Philippine made products.

It started one Friday afternoon after work, me and my “ate” ( “ate” is a Filipino term for older sister, but this “ate” I was referring is we are not related by blood- mainly a co-worker) went to this small city because we wanted to visit the “Sapatos Festival”.

The late afternoon started in “Cafe Kapitan”. Known to locals as the home of the first ever sapatero in Marikina. They renovated the place and made it into a classy restaurant. We are not supposed to eat there and my co-worker only need to give something to the owner but we were invited to the banquet organized by the owner because of the celebration of the Immaculate Conception of the Virgin Mary. We experienced the generousity and warmness of the Marikenos. Thank you very much and we really enjoyed the food. If you have the time, please don’t hesitate to drop by “Cafe Kapitan” and enjoy the great food and ambiance.

image

image

image

The entrance

image

image

image

What we really planned to do for the afternoon is to buy some shoes. I feel like I am in a house full of shoes. I can go broke here buying all I want to buy – and the prices are so super affordable.

image
image
image
image
image
image
image

image

Happy Shopper


image

Very tourist-y shot

After enjoying some time shopping and trying on different shoes. We are so famished. We decided to eat at the renowned “Cafe Lidia”. To be honest, I dont know anything in Marikina and good thing that my friend / co – worker knows a lot of stuff around Marikina. He did all his research beforehand and I believe it was his 3rd time in Marikina to buy shoes and to enjoy the cuisine.
image

image

Pasta Lidia and Marinara


image
image
image

I enjoyed the local culture and one of my 2014’s resolutions is for me to experience more of this kind of education. I will do my best to support local stuff like shoes and clothes, and enjoy local cultures. Don’t forget to visit the “Zapatero Festival” in Patio del Zapatero in Shoe Avenue Marikina City just beside the Shoe Museum (too bad, we werent able to visit the museum because it is too late).

image

Very nice art installation

Til the next pose and post!

One comment

Leave a Reply

