Dull (or Doll?) Saturday

Way way back, I really thought that when I grow up, I will be working for a magazine. To be exact a fashion magazine. I cant remember exactly at what age I had my first fashion moment. All I can remember is that one of cousins, had this big fascination with Mariah Carey. All she does is to wear her hair like Mariah’s – big curly hair less the blondeness. With my cousin’s fascination, it introduced me to fashion. Aside from the fact that one of my aunts who lives overseas is a big all out fashionista. She got the style and grace that whenever she goes back here she always get usual second glances and head turns. She has been my fashion inspiration as a child. And of course, my mom is always the big fashion guru up until now and still advises me if I am wearing something right or wrong, and she never discouraged me to wear something very uncommon. She always believe that you should wear what you feel like wearing.

Going back to my dream of working for a fashion magazine. So you are probably wondering why I am giving throwbacks, etc. Well here how it goes: my Saturday is actually a blank day for me. How ironic right? Today is the only day that I dont have a scheduled thingie, and mom is not around, I cant ask her to have lunch/ dinner somewhere. So as a free vacant day, I browsed through some DVDs we had. And viola! I find my “Devil Wears Prada” DVD. If I have to choose among all the fashion films, I have to say that DWP is my top pick. Come on do the equation: fashion + magazine + my dream of working for a fashion magazine. Hello, that is so me. I can still remember the first time I watched the film, I had like goosebumps due to excitement. I happened to read the book after I watched the film. I have to say that they are two entirely different entities. The ending is totally different for the book and the movie. Well anyways, I still adore the film & the book in their own ways.

image

image

How very timely as well that I’ve watched The Devil Wears Prada because the sequel for the book will be released in about a month’s time. So saying that: I should finish the book I’m currently reading and reserve my copy for the sequel.

image

Hopefully, someday, I will be able to work for a fashion magazine but not like Andrea but I want to work as a fashion editor who writes about fashion and life. Just a question, “Am I actually doing it right now through this blog?”

Speaking of magazines, I am so obsessed with Preview Magazine’s May cover with the triamvuriate of Miss Universe featuring Venus Raj, Shamcey Supsup and Janine Tugonon. Burberry, grace, beauty queens and darkened skin – hello high fashion edits.

image

Till the next pose & post!

Leave a Reply

